The Fandom Post

Anime, Movies, Comics, Entertainment & More

‘A Silent Voice’ Limited Edition Blu-ray Release Detailed

3 min read

Eleven Arts had said that a limited edition was coming for A Silent Voice and now it looks like we’re closer to it being a reality. Scheduled for a November 26th, 2019 debut, the set is priced at $89.99 and brings us the film on Blu-ray as we saw previously but also includes premium packaging which will house a lot of material. We had a tentative list of it before from the initial solicitation and now Eleven Arts has updated with what it includes in full.

The limited edition includes:

– Premium packaging with a chipboard box featuring the original Japanese box set artwork, raised UV design, and a holographic title treatment
– 60 page art book featuring storyboards, character designs, notes from Naoko Yamada, and the story behind the Inner Silence alternate soundtrack written by Composer Kensuke Ushio himself
– 8 stunning Art Cards highlighting some of the most beautiful and iconic scenes of the film
– FULL FILM AUDIO COMMENTARY featuring the director, art directors, voice actresses, and the music team
– Individual interviews with Director Naoko Yamada, Composer Kensuke Ushio, Art Director Mutsuo Shinohara, and the late Character Designer Futoshi Nishiy
– Inner Silence special soundtrack for the film. No dialogue, just music and imagery in perfect harmony. Composed by Kensuke Ushio
– The official music video of “Koi Wo Shita No Wa” by aiko.
– “Speed of Youth” music video directed by Naoko Yamada featuring new footage not in the film
– “Real Life Locations of A Silent Voice” Featurette
– Collection of ALL Japanese and U.S. promotional videos~

Check out our review of the film.

The film is based on the manga by Yoshitoki Oima that’s being released in North America by Kodansha Comics. Produced by Kyoto Animation, the film is directed by Naoka Yamada based on the script from Reiko Yoshida with Futoshi Nishiya handling the character designs.

The film received an April 2nd, 2019 regular edition release where we see the DVD priced at $16.97 and the DVD/BD combo priced at $26.99.

The Japanese cast includes Miyu Irino as Shouya Ishida, Saori Hayami as Shouko Nishimiya, Aoi Yūki as Yuzuru Nishiya, Kensho Ono as Tomohiro Nagatsu, Yuki Kaneko as Naoka Ueno, Yui Ishikawa as Miyoko Sahara, Megumi Han as Miki Kawai and Toshiyuki Toyonaga as Toshi Mashibasa.

Directed by Stephanie Sheh, the English cast includes Amber Lee Connors as Miki Kawai, Kira Buckland as Naoka Ueno, Lexi Cowden as Shoko Nishimiya, Robbie Daymond as Shoya Ishida, Graham Halstead as Nagatsuka, Kristen Sullivan as Yuzuru Nishimiya, Lipica Shah as Yaeko Nishimiya, Max Mittelman as Satoshi Mashiba, Melissa Hope as Miyoko Sahara, and Sara Cravens as Miyoko Ishida.

Plot concept: Shoya is a bully. When Shoko, a girl who can’t hear, enters his elementary school class, she becomes his favorite target, and Shoya and his friends goad each other into devising new tortures for her. But the children’s cruelty goes too far. Shoko is forced to leave the school, and Shoya ends up shouldering all the blame. Six years later, the two meet again. Can Shoya make up for his past mistakes, or is it too late?

Liked it? Take a second to support the site on Patreon!