The Fandom Post

Anime, Movies, Comics, Entertainment & More

‘A Silent Voice’ Limited Edition Blu-ray Release Finally Scheduled

2 min read
Oh now this looks beautiful.

Eleven Arts had said that a limited edition was coming for A Silent Voice and now it looks like we’re closer to it being a reality. Scheduled for a November 26th, 2019 debut, the set is priced at $89.99 and brings us the film on Blu-ray as we saw previously but also includes premium packaging which will house a 60 page Art and Storyboard Booklet containing storyboards from the Koi Wo Shita No Wa music video and Speed of Youth short, plus individual interviews with the Director, Composer, Art Director, and Character Designer of A Silent Voice.

On disc extras include the Real Life Locations of A Silent Voice featurette, full film commentary by the Production Staff (2 hours 10 minutes), Koi Wo Shita No Wa music video, Speed of Youth short music video by Naoko Yamada featuring original animations not in the film, Japanese and US promotional videos, and additional features to be revealed.

Check out our review of the film.

The film is based on the manga by Yoshitoki Oima that’s being released in North America by Kodansha Comics. Produced by Kyoto Animation, the film is directed by Naoka Yamada based on the script from Reiko Yoshida with Futoshi Nishiya handling the character designs.

The film received an April 2nd, 2019 regular edition release where we see the DVD priced at $16.97 and the DVD/BD combo priced at $26.99.

The Japanese cast includes Miyu Irino as Shouya Ishida, Saori Hayami as Shouko Nishimiya, Aoi Yūki as Yuzuru Nishiya, Kensho Ono as Tomohiro Nagatsu, Yuki Kaneko as Naoka Ueno, Yui Ishikawa as Miyoko Sahara, Megumi Han as Miki Kawai and Toshiyuki Toyonaga as Toshi Mashibasa.

Directed by Stephanie Sheh, the English cast includes Amber Lee Connors as Miki Kawai, Kira Buckland as Naoka Ueno, Lexi Cowden as Shoko Nishimiya, Robbie Daymond as Shoya Ishida, Graham Halstead as Nagatsuka, Kristen Sullivan as Yuzuru Nishimiya, Lipica Shah as Yaeko Nishimiya, Max Mittelman as Satoshi Mashiba, Melissa Hope as Miyoko Sahara, and Sara Cravens as Miyoko Ishida.

Plot concept: Shoya is a bully. When Shoko, a girl who can’t hear, enters his elementary school class, she becomes his favorite target, and Shoya and his friends goad each other into devising new tortures for her. But the children’s cruelty goes too far. Shoko is forced to leave the school, and Shoya ends up shouldering all the blame. Six years later, the two meet again. Can Shoya make up for his past mistakes, or is it too late?

Liked it? Take a second to support the site on Patreon!

More Stories