The Fandom Post

Anime, Movies, Comics, Entertainment & More

Pony Canyon Japan Sets ‘Show By Rock!!’ Anime DVD/BD Release Schedule

2 min read

Show By RockAs we get ready to see the debut of the spring 2015 series Show By Rock!!, Pony Canyon has announced the Japanese release plans for the series. The show will be getting a six volume released beginning on June 24th, 2015 where the Blu-ray releases are all limited editions priced at 6,900 yen each and the DVDs are regular editions priced at 5,800 yen each.

The schedule and extras are set with:

  • Volume 1 – 6/24/2015 – The Limited Edition will include a 2 song character CD and an app code for the game. On disc extras include the clean opening and closing.
  • Volume 2 -7/22/2015 –
  • Volume 3 – 8/26/2015 –
  • Volume 4 – 9/16/2015 –
  • Volume 5 – 10/28/2015 –
  • Volume 6 – 11/25/2015 –

We’ll be updating those as new details and cover art are released.

The series is directed by Takahiro Ikezoe based on scripts by Touko Machida and character designs by Masaru Ohshiro. The series is being animated by Bones. FUNimation has picked up the North American rights and will be simulcasting the series.

The series is based on the project by Sanrio that has had an iOS rhythm game out so far that stars Eri Inagawa, Sumire Uesaka and Ayane Sakura in the primary position. It also has other bands included in it, with more to be announced. The ones announced so far include Mamoru Miyano Shuzo, Ryota Ohsaka as Kai and Ayumu Murase as Riku and Megumi Han as Daru Dayu, Eriko Matsui as A and Saori Hayami as Un and Kishô Taniyama as Crow, Kouki Uchiyama as Aeon, Tetsuya Kakihara as Yaiba and Yoshimasa Hosoya as Rom. Criticrista includes Rina Hidaka as Logia, Ai Kayano as Tsukino, Rie Murakawa as Jacqueline and Hiromi Igarashi as Holmy.

Plot concept: Set in the glamorous metropolis Tokyo Midi City, where music—and the dream of musical superstardom—is everything. Here, “battle of the bands” is more than just a teen rivalry: Dozens of ensembles compete for the honor of playing atop the city’s highest tower. When a Gothic Lolita-clad catgirl cutie named Cyan stumbles into the music world, she too is swept up by the dream of fame. After joining forces with three other colorful characters—bunnygirl honor student Chuchu, shy doggirl Retoree, and adorable sheepgirl Moa—the quartet becomes Plasmagica, the freshest band on the scene. Armed with special instruments, the girls face off with other bands striving for stardom, like the cool and passionate Visual Kei band Shingan Crimsonz, or the handsome pop idols Trichronika. Will the band find celebrity? Or are they doomed to be one-hit-wonders…

[Source: Show By Rock!!]

Liked it? Take a second to support the site on Patreon!